Click here for live web Radio
what broadcasts are coming up? Go to the film section

Radiohead 2
Susheela Raman
Red Snapper
The Reindeer Section

Watch the video:

You Are My Joy
[ low ][ med ][ high ]

The Reindeer Section

The Reindeer Section return with a brand new single You Are My Joy, the first single to be taken from their forthcoming second album Son of Evil. Released through Bright Star Recordings on 10 June 2002, You Are My Joy, is a big love-in of an anthem, unapologetically uplifting with the biggest chorus this side of the pop frontline.

Barely a year ago Gary Lightbody, frontman and principal songwriter with Irish bred/Glasgow based 3 piece Snow Patrol, rounded up 21 of Glasgow’s finest musicians from the audience at a local gig. In a flash of drunken inspiration, the Reindeer Section was born. One day’s songwriting, and a week in the studio later, the album All Get Scared Now, Ya Hear?, was completed and released in August 2001 on Belfast’s Bright Star Recordings label.

Eight months on, and with another set of songs suitable for the Reindeer Section treatment burning a hole in Gary’s songbook, (alongside an album’s worth of new Snow Patrol material) it was time to pick up the phone and see who was around.

Over 2 weeks in February this year, the Reindeer Section (with its ranks now swollen to a near platoon of 27), recorded the follow-up to All Get Scared..., with Gary pooling a core band of Snow Patrol associate Jonny Quinn, Astrid’s Neil Payne, Charlie Clarke, Willy Campbell and Gareth Russell and Eva’s Jenny Reeve. The individual talents of the following added to the magic: Mark McLelland (Snow Patrol) John Cummings (Mogwai), Eugene Kelly (The Vaselines), Lee Gorton, Sam Morris & Ben Dumville (Alfie), Aidan Moffat, Malcolm Middleton & Colin MacPherson (Arab Strap), Sarah Roberts (Eva), Roddy Woomble (Idlewild), Norman Blake (Teenage Fanclub), Richard Colburn, Mick Cooke & Bob Kildea (Belle & Sebastian), Iain Archer (Cadet) and Stacey Sievewright, Paul Fox and Marcus Mackay.

The quality of the song-writing on Son of Evil is outstanding, Gary himself fronts eight tracks, and guest vocalists including Roddy from Idlewild and Adian of Arab Strap, take the lead on 4 other tracks. Son of Evil is due to be released on 24 June 2002, through Bright Star Recordings.

To date, The Reindeer Section have only played a handful of dates, partly due to the size of the touring party and the availability of those involved. The Reindeer Section’s 2002 line-up played for the first time to launch the first night of goNorth (a week long event showcasing talent from Scotland and beyond) in Aberdeen this May. Future dates include: this year’s Witnness festival in Northern Ireland 14 July; this year’s Summersonic festival in Japan on 18/19 August (18 August, Tokyo and 19 August, Osaka); and this year’s Reading & Leeds festivals they will be performing on the Carling Stage at Reading on 25 August, alongside new up & coming acts like The Music and Ikara Colt, and playing on 23 August @ the Leeds Leg.

The Reindeer Section You Are My Joy was released through Bright Star Recordings on 10 June 2002.

For more information visit

Get Windows Media Player 7

Use BT click&buy for your online payments. Easy, convenient and secure